Emirates Team New Zealand win supreme at the 55th Halberg Awards

As official supplier we are proud to announce that Emirates Team New Zealand’s America’s Cup victory in Bermuda in 2017 was recognised with both the Sports Team of the Year and the Halberg Supreme Award at last nights 55th Halberg Awards, the country’s pre-eminent event to honour and celebrate sporting excellence and raise funds for the Halberg Disability Sport Foundation.

Emirates Team New Zealand received the Sports Team of the year award, decided by a panel of kiwi sporting personalities and journalists, ahead of a strong line up of significant kiwi team sporting success: The Black Sox (Men’s Softball), Womens K2 Canoe Racing (Lisa Carrington and Caitlin Ryan), and the Rugby World Cup winning Black Ferns (Womens Rugby Team).

Long time Emirates Team New Zealand sailor Ray Davies accepted the award on behalf of the entire team:

“Obviously this award is about ‘team’ so I am accepting the award on behalf of the 90 team members and their families that came together against so many more odds than people realise but believed in each other to work so relentlessly for three years to win back the America’s Cup.”

The Halberg Supreme award was decided from the winners of the four main categories, Sportsman of the Year (Tom Walsh), Sportswoman of the Year (Lisa Carrington), Disabled Sportsperson of the year (Sophie Pascoe) and Sports Team of the Year.

Emirates Team New Zealand COO Kevin Shoebridge was delighted with the recognition of the Supreme Award and the Team of the year category because of the significance of the team work culture that runs so deep within Emirates Team New Zealand.

“I am especially proud of the team because of the effort and collective drive everyone had to win. There was no single person in the team that was deemed more valuable than the next and the effort and determination that was required to win in Bermuda, was done for each other which was more powerful than any individual motivations.”

“It is a really special occasion to be able to reflect on what we achieved last year, but like all of the sports men and women at the Halberg’s we realise that with one achievement another objective immediately begins and we are really delighted that by winning the America’s Cup in Bermuda we now have the opportunity as a sports mad country to host the best America’s Cup ever in New Zealand in 2021.”

The category winners of the Halberg awards were:

  • Halberg Supreme Award: Emirates Team New Zealand
  • Sportsman of the Year: Tom Walsh
  • High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportswoman of the Year: Lisa Carrington
  • Halberg Disabled Sportsperson of the Year: Sophie Pascoe
  • Team of the Year: Emirates Team New Zealand
  • Emerging Talent Award: Ellesse Andrews
  • New Zealand’s Favourite Sporting Moment – public vote award: Mitchell Hunt
  • Buddle Findlay Coach of the Year Award: Gordon Walker
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Morrie Chandler
  • Sport New Zealand Leadership Award: Steve Hansen
  • Sports Hall of Fame Inductees: Rob Waddell


Photo Credits: David Rowland – Photosport




Credits: fivestudio.it